, , ,

The Percy Jackson series, written by author, Rick Riordan, is an excellent and well written group of books.

They are about a boy called Percy Jackson, who discovers, on his first adventure (Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief) that he is half man, half God, and that the Gods of Greek mythology really do exist.  The books follow Percy, and his friends on all their adventures, as their ordinary, every day lives come face to face with the world of the immortals.  Percy discovers a whole new, and secret world full of quests and monsters!

The books are really exciting, and there is a lot of action and adventure packed into each book.  I would recommend them to children aged 9 and upwards, as some of the language is a bit difficult to understand for younger readers, and the author uses real Greek mythology and history to make the stories work, but that means that some of the words are hard to pronounce and read.

The books are good for both boys and girls, although I think they are aimed more at boy readers.

There is also a film of the first book, also called Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief.  It is good, but not as good as the books.

There are two series of Percy Jackson books:

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters

Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse

Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth

Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian


There is then a second series called: “Heroes of Olympus”

The Lost Hero

The Son of Neptune

The Mark of Athena

The next in the series: ‘The House of Hades’ is going to be published this year, and I can’t wait to read it.