Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Richard Scarry was the creator of an entire series of picture books about Busytown, populated by a host of wonderful anthropomorphic characters, my favourite of which has to be Lowly Worm, seen here in his rockin’ apple car.

RichardScarry

The books were a major part of my childhood reading landscape. They were endlessly entertaining, mainly due to the sheer density of illustrations per page, which meant that you could lose yourself in them, and always find something new to see, no matter how many times you had picked up the book before.

Scarry produced over 200 books in his life time.  My particular favourite was a small, chunky book of nursery rhymes, each illustrated with the classic Scarry hustle and bustle. My favourite page was the one for Twinkle Twinkle Little Star which I read so often and looked at so much, the page actually fell to pieces.

I miss Scarry in my life now that I am a grown up, and I am surprised that more schools don’t feature his work in their libraries and story corners, because the books are still in print, and from my own experience, exert the same fascination over my children as they did with me all those years ago.

Scarry died in 1994, but his son, Huck has decided to carry on in his name and The Best Lowly Worm Book Ever is to be released on 26th September. You can pre-order it from Amazon here.

You can read a Telegraph Article about Scarry and his son here.

