Tags

It was Roald Dahl Day at school yesterday.

There were some amazing costumes.  My particular favourite amongst the ones the children wore was a teeny, weeny child who arrived for his very first day at school ever, dressed as one of the squirrels from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

He looked amazing.

Tallulah, my ten year old, went as Aunt Spiker and looked suitably spindly and spider like. We stuck knitting needles in her bun to make her look extra mad, and it worked beautifully.

Oscar, , my son, went as Mike Teavee from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  Apparently I let him down badly by failing to buy him a holster and two six shooters, but he coped admirably despite my uselessness.

I went as Willie Wonka.

530529_10151661873735945_1845235242_n

I thoroughly enjoyed dressing up, which is unusual, because it’s not really my forte, but I think I have a great deal in common with Mr. Wonka, so that may be why it worked so well.  We are both rather eccentric, and have an excellent nose for chocolate.

557129_10151661874535945_1398137501_n

And we don’t mind coming across as a bit mad.

It was wonderful to see how much effort the children had put into their costumes and how creative they could be.

I loved the fact that the costumes meant that the children were all talking to each other about books, guessing which child was which character, talking about what books they came from, and talking about what their favourites were.

Each teacher had a pack from the Roald Dahl day website which had a range of activities for the children to do over the day alongside their regular lessons.  The KS2 classes also tuned in to the Puffin Live event which was streamed over the internet.  Hosted by Michael Rosen, author of a new book about Dahl, and with guests such as actresses from the hit musical Matilda, and Dahl’s daughter Lucy, it was a fascinating show.

The younger classes had story time instead, and I had an excellent afternoon reading to Class Two from George’s Marvellous Medicine.

