Tags

, ,

World Book Night in the UK and Ireland is on April 23rd next year.

book-heart-pages

If you want to register to be a book giver you can sign up on the website, here.

Every year on World Book Night, thousands of free books are given away by volunteers who are given eighteen books each (one title per giver), and asked to distribute them to people who they know would not ordinarily read.

Lots and lots of my friends have signed up to be World Book Night givers in the past.

I have never been given a book by one of them, as they all take their job very seriously, and I am a voracious reader.

Helas.

This year I have decided to take the plunge and sign up to be a giver.

If they’ll have me.

It isn’t hard to sign up. You give your regular name, age, address details etc, and fill out three simple questions to do with how you would give, why you want to give, and who you have in mind to give to.  Then you pick the top three titles out of the ones available to you that you would like to give the most.

The main reason I have decided to sign up this year, is that although the books which have been chosen for next year’s giveaway are as an eclectic a mix as ever, many of them have been picked with younger readers as a target audience.

Consequently there are books like John Boyne’s ‘The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas’ and Robert Muchamore’s ‘The Recruit’ alongside the excellent fantasy novel, ‘Rivers of London’ by Ben Aaranovitch.

I think I could find excellent homes for books like these amongst some of the children at my school and their brothers and sisters at high school.  The thought of being able to gift a new book to a child who maybe doesn’t read partly because they don’t own a book of their own (it does happen – more than I would like), excites me to a ridiculous degree.

I really hope I get picked to be a giver in 2014. It would mean a great deal to me, and the young people I could gift those books to.

For the first time this year there are two ways to give books, either as a World Book Night Edition giver, which is what i am signing up for, or as a community book giver.

You can actually sign up for both of these, and I am about to sign up to be a community book giver as well.

The community book giver is a new idea.

As a community book giver, you commit to buying and gifting at least one book to someone on World Book Night.  It does not have to be a new book. It can be one you already own, or one you purchase second hand if you prefer that to buying one new. Anyone can do it.

You register so that the World Book Night organisers know roughly how many people are doing the community giving, and so that they can send you book plates and book marks to go in the book or books you choose to give.

I love the idea that you can give your favourite book to someone who may turn out to treasure it as much as you.  It might be that the book you give turns that person onto reading for the rest of their life.

It is a cause close to my heart and I will be supporting it all the way.

I hope you do too.

