Tags

, , , , , ,

My son has now sped his way through all seven previous Tom Gates’ books and is clamouring to get his mitts on the latest one: ‘Tom Gates: A Tiny Bit Lucky.’ My daughter Tallulah had it for her birthday, devoured it, and passed it on to me, where it has been languishing by my bedside ever since.

8403869_0_9999_med_v1_m56577569857260519

It is not that I didn’t want to read it. It was that there were so many other things to read, and it kept getting bumped down the pile.

Last night, knowing that he would be wanting it this morning, I picked it up, and spent a very enjoyable hour reading it.

I have now handed on the baton/book to Oscar. He will be finished with it by the end of the week, and then comes the problem of finding him something else he likes as much. I shall not worry about it overmuch until Friday.

I have reviewed all the previous Tom Gates’ books on here, and also written blog posts about the excellent Tom Gates’ website, and the joys of reading the books with enthusiastic readers like Oscar.

I really don’t think there is a lot I can add here.

The books are consistently good, and run true to form, so if you liked the previous seven, you will love this too.

Tom is still struggling to get DogZombies recognised. He is still having problems with his teenage sister Delia, and Marcus Meldrew continues to annoy him to bits. His mum and dad are trying to get him to watch less television and get out and do things. Tom is sceptical, but almost won over by making a kite with his dad. You can find out how to make it too. Instructions are featured in the back of the book.

Funny, charming, quirky, and chock full of the most excellent doodles and illustrations this is perfect for transitional readers, and just readers who enjoy funny, diary type stories, both boys and girls, aged 7-12.

