Tags

, , , ,

Confusingly, The Fall of Five by Pittacus Lore, is the fourth book in The Lorien Legacies series, of which I am Number Four is first.

9780718178215

Complicated, eh?

I started out really enjoying I am Number Four and ate up the sequel The Power of Six. By the third book; The Rise of Nine, I was a little less enamoured, and now I am reading them just to find out what happens in the end.

I think the books started out with a great idea. They tell the story of ten alien children from the planet Lorien, who flee their country as it is being destroyed by the evil Mogadorian race. They find their way to earth, where each child goes off to hide and grow into adulthood, and their legacies (super powers of varying descriptions), with their guardians, known as Cepans.

They are intuitively linked in that each knows if one of the ten have died, but otherwise do not meet, until the first book, where Number Four, whose name is John, falls in love with a human girl, and all hell breaks lose with a mogadorian attack on his high school. John is forced to take flight and join forces with other Lorien children in order to try and defeat the Mogadorians.

Each book carries the story further on in time, and introduces more of the numbered children, and the fight against the Mogadorians gets more desperate as they uncover the Mogadorian’s plan to subjugate the earth, just as they subjugated Lorien.

The stories are quite repetitive and I found myself being quite bewildered as to what was going on in this book, especially as it was a long time since I read The Rise of Nine.

I will continue to read the story to the end. They are uncomplicated, page turning sci fi adventures with a high body count, a bit of a love interest and a lot of violence that are very easy to read. I wish they had lived up to the promise of the first book all the way through. By now it feels a bit like they are written by numbers (quite literally in places).

Suitable for 12 to 16 year olds. There are hints of sexual activity, although it’s all in fairly good taste. There is lots of violence, which isn’t. It has a strong cast of both male and female characters, and the females are not drippy and passive, which is good.

There are a fair few between volume short stories which are generally on Kindle release, but three of which have been added as kind of appendix to the back of this book. I dithered over whether to buy them when they came out on Kindle. I’m glad I didn’t. They are ok, but don’t add much you don’t already know and I think it’s more of a money spinning exercises to be honest. It’s the sort of thing that J.K. Rowling releases for free on Pottermore.

