Tags

, , , ,

I don’t often review picture books here at Making The Readers. My children have almost grown out of them now, and my work in schools is often with older children. I was delighted, however, to have been given a bag of picture books recently, and before I donated them to the local infant school I read a few that were new to me.

10420_1

I was most intrigued by the fact that the Moomin books have now been adapted into a series of picture books for younger children. I love the Moomin books by Tove Jansson, but they are a pretty tricky read for younger children, despite the fact that the characters are delightful, and very appealing.

Moomin and the Moonlight Adventure has been adapted from the original stories by Jansson. At first I was a little worried that they would have lost their charm and perhaps become blander and less magical. I needn’t have worried. The quirks and traits of the characters have been carried across beautifully into these simple, lovely stories.

Moomin wakes up one morning itching to go on an adventure. All his family and friends agree that it is the perfect day for a trip in the boat, and set about getting ready. Everyone takes so long choosing exactly the right things to take with them, that it is evening by the time they assemble at the jetty. Undeterred they set off in the moonlight for a wonderful picnic and an adventure with some treasure.

I thought it was charming, and had lost none of what appealed to me all those years ago and still keeps me entertained. The pictures are true to Jansson’s originals and the story is perfectly whimsical and a delight.

Wonderful as a story for even the youngest child.

