Tags

, , ,

The Revenge of Seven by Pittacus Lore, is, confusingly, the fifth book in The Lorien Legacies series, the first of which is even more confusingly called: ‘I am Number Four.’ I have reviewed all the previous books in the series on this blog.

revenge-of-seven-lorien

I find the series quite challenging. Some of the books I have absolutely loved, the first one was excellent, for example. The fourth book (The Fall of Five), I found completely uninspiring and read simply because I am stubbornly committed to finding out what happens in the end. I confess I was not looking forward to reading The Revenge of Seven, and it has been on my bedside table for months.

It is, happily for me, a vast improvement on the previous volume, and I actually found myself savouring the time I spent reading it, rather than whipping through it at breakneck speed, just to get it over with.

The Lorien Legacies are not standalone adventures, and you must have read them in order to make any sense of these books at all, particularly given that they are narrated by multiple, first person narrators, identified only by font style, and by the fact that you need to understand their back story to know who they are.

The books tell the story of an alien race called the Loric, whose planet is destroyed by another alien race called the Mogadorians. The Loric are peaceful, creative and a power for good. They pack up their last best hope in terms of their most gifted children, into a space ship with guardians for each child, and send them to earth.

Once on earth, the children must grow into their Loric super powers and will then be instructed as to how to defeat the Mogadorians, who are hunting them down, and rebuild Lorien.

The books chart the progress of each of the children and how they come together to try and defeat their enemies.

In the last few volumes I found the narrative very samey, as each child comes to meet the others in much the same ways and it was very much a case of ‘only the names have been changed.’ In this volume, thankfully, there is much more of a real plot unfolding, and the introduction of new characters who are not so one dimensional. There is also a considerable effort on the part of the author to deepen the emotional range of the existing characters so that they become more than just vehicles for the next fight scene.

I am genuinely looking forward to reading the next volume when it comes out.

The books are recommended for the teen market, rather than the under twelves, as there are some sexual references. These are so politely handled however, and entirely lacking in troubling detail, so I would be happy for younger children to read them, especially as their focus is more likely to be on the fight scenes and the descriptions of alien technologies and powers rather than who snogs who.  The books have a strong cast of male and female characters which makes them universally appealing. I would recommend them to confident upper KS2 readers to age 15.

