Tags

,

Still no book reviews at the moment. Sorry. I am half way through a teen novel that my daughter lent me, but reviewing and writing work is taking precedent at the moment. I promise to be more on the ball once various deadlines are a thing of the past.

In the meantime I thought I’d share with you one of the methods we used to encourage my son, who did not want to learn to read, to read.

e085ba9cdc8adfad99116a4ba6502fbf

My son is a relentlessly logical and pedantic child, much to my annoyance. He needs a good reason to do things he cannot see the point of for himself, and he could not for the life of him, see the point in learning to read when we were doing such a wonderful job for him, and he was getting along just fine without it.

One of the ways we persuaded him how important it was for him to read for himself, was to give him the menu in a restaurant instead of reading it for him.

Obviously, we did not let him starve to death while we all sat round eating our lovely, self-ordered dinner.

We are not quite that mean.

But it did help to show him that if he was going to choose what he wanted for dinner, learning to read the menu might be a good place to start.

There are so many instances in every day life where reading becomes practical and necessary, and it can be a very thought provoking, real life lesson for a child, to give them the power of making choices of their own based on things they have to read. It helps to sharpen their focus greatly, particularly if there are chips involved.

