Tags

, , , ,

Steven Seagull Action Hero by Elys Dolan was sent to me by the Amazon Vine review programme in exchange for my honest opinion of it.

seagull

Honestly? I love it.

I was so excited to choose this book to review as I love Elys Dolan. I’ve reviewed her work for dyslexia friendly publisher, Barrington Stoke, and one of my all time favourite picture books is Weasels by Dolan, which I bought for many people one Christmas I love it so much.

Steven Seagull Action Hero actually surpasses Weasels in my affections though. It is a brilliant, funny, clever picture book.

Dolan’s illustrations are fantastic for a start. She has a great knack for creating really brilliant characters with terrific expressions that bring the whole story to life.

I particularly loved the fact that this story works well for adults as well as children. The Steven Seagull character is, I suspect, closely modelled on Steven Seagal, and the plot is very reminiscent of an action film with gangsters and crime lords and grumpy police captains all thrown into the mix. There are also nods to shows like Baywatch. There are some great details for children to find too.

There are lots of visual jokes as well as those in the text, and the whole book is a delight from beginning to end. It’s a book I will be sending as a gift to adults as well as children.

